• Gabrielle Gallegos

Chakras 101

Hello everyone! Happy Friday :)

In yoga, there is so much to learn about! Lately, I have found myself intrigued with our chakra system. You may be asking yourself, "what in the world is a chakra system?" Well, today I am going to spill all that I know about these wonderful, spinning energy wheels, the chakras.

Chakra literally translates to "wheel" or disk". Chakras were discovered in Asia at least 2500 years ago. No, you don't have to travel to India to learn about chakras and reap the benefits of this knowledge. While welcoming this knowledge into your life, it simply requires you to remain open in your mind and heart. It's okay if you have never heard of them! Take time for YOU and delve into the chakra system while gaining tremendous benefits for your health, energy and even your weight.

There are 7 main chakras located along the spine. The chakras serve as connection points between the physical body and consciousness. Through these energy centers you are to receive process and express your vital life energy. Sometimes there can be a deficient or excess amount of energy in your body, this can create a block in the energy flow in one or any of the chakras. When there is a blockage you may notice physical, emotion, or mental imbalances.

Each chakra corresponds to a specific aspect of human behavior and development. As mentioned before, there are 7 chakras along our spine. When learning about and working with our chakras, it is important to know that all work is done from the bottom up. The lower chakras (first chakra begins at the base of our spine: root chakra, sacral chakra, and solar plexus chakra) are associated with fundamental emotions and needs, the energy here is heavy and well-defined. Our upper chakra's (throat chakra, third eye chakra, and crown chakra) corresponds to our higher mental and spiritual aspirations, the energy here is subtle and in a freer form.

The chakras can be a very dense subject, a subject that can be studied for a very long time if you are eager to learn more. My hopes for this blog is for you to understand the chakras a little better. As well as to provide a few tips to help incorporate the knowledge and study of chakras into your life.

The Seven Chakras:

  1. Root Chakra: located at the base of your spine (tailbone area). This is the chakra closest to the earth and it represents our foundation and being grounded. Emotionally the root chakra works with survival issues such as finances, food and security.

  2. Sacral Chakra: located at the lower abdomen, about two inches below the navel. Emotionally, the sacral chakra works with sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure and sexuality.

  3. Solar Plexus Chakra: located at the upper abdomen in the stomach area. Emotionally, the solar plexus chakra works with self-worth, self-confidence, and self-esteem.

  4. Heart Chakra: located at the center of the chest just above the heart. Emotionally, the heart chakra works with love, joy and inner peace.

  5. Throat Chakra: located at the throat. Emotionally, the throat chakra works with communication, self-expression, and the truth.

  6. Third Eye Chakra: located between the eyebrows. Emotionally, the third eye chakra works with intuition, wisdom, and the ability to feel confident and make decisions.

  7. Crown Chakra: located at the very top of the head. Emotionally, the crown chakra works with inner and outer beauty and our connection to spirituality.

Chakra Blockage:

  • What blocks a chakra? Childhood traumas, cultural conditioning, limited belief systems, physical injuries and emotional injuries.

  • How can you tell if a chakra is blocked? We have all experienced times when the free flow of our energy seems blocked. For example, if communication is difficult, there may be a block in the fifth chakra. Are your personal finances constantly in a state of crisis? There may be a block in the first chakra. Are you physically blocked up, unable to use the restroom? The third chakra is located in our gut, typically related to anxiety from the past or insecurity about the future.

Unblocking a Chakra:

  • requires addressing the problem on multiple levels

  • understand the dynamics of the particular chakra: get to know the chakra system. What is the chakra trying to accomplish? How does it behave when balanced?

  • apply exercises and techniques: find these later in the blog.

* Keep your eyes open for upcoming blogs to find exercises/techniques for individual chakras! *

Excess / Deficiency:

Think about when you are going through stress, negative experiences or trauma.

There are typically two ways we choose to cope:

  1. increasing your energy in order to fight through

  2. decreasing your energy in order to withdraw from the situation

When we choose this way to cope, we are resulting to an excessive or deficient coping strategy.

What can excessive, or fighting through, look like physically?

  • Well-toned body can be excessive that chronic tension is created.

  • Compulsive about details, overly organized.

What can, or the coping strategy to withdraw, look like physically?

  • Unreliable

  • body that is under-toned

Interestingly, we all become excessive in some areas and deficient in others.

Although this all may seem confusing, healing imbalances can be simple!

  • Thinking outside the box is key for healing chakras. For example: an excessive chakra can feed a deficient one. While strengthening a deficient chakra, it may help to create support by strengthening a chakra below. i.e. your third chakra can increase when grounded (first chakra). The more you learn about chakras and how yours spin, the more intuitive and effortless this healing process will come.

My next few blogs will highlight each chakra. In these upcoming blogs expect:

  1. Chakra name/sanskrit name

  2. Corresponding color

  3. Nutrition

  4. Asana (yoga postures)

  5. Meditation

  6. Affirmations

  7. Self-study/questions to reflect and learn more about YOUR chakras

“It’s not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself,

and to make your happiness a priority.

It’s necessary.

– Mandy Hale

-- Live Well,

Gabrielle Gallegos

#chakras #chakra #wellbeing #education #yoga #selfstudy